Skip to main content
3 min read

Teachers & Educational Leaders Honored at PLTW Summit

PLTW Recognizes Outstanding Teachers and Educational Leaders focused on empowering and engaging students in career learning

SAN ANTONIO – Project Lead The Way (PLTW) recognized more than 40 exemplary teachers and educational leaders at its national conference this week for their outstanding efforts to empower and inspire students.

PLTW Outstanding Teachers and PLTW Outstanding Educational Leaders are selected through a competitive nomination and selection process for their focus on empowering students to thrive in this evolving world. They have demonstrated a strong record of the following:

  • Delivering an inspiring and empowering student experience in the classroom. This includes success implementing high-quality PLTW programs and inspiring students to apply learning beyond the classroom.
  • Expanding access to career learning for students in the school and community.
  • Leading within the classroom, school, or district, using innovative methods to engage students in activity-, project-, problem-based learning, and active pursuit of professional and personal development.

The following teachers have been named PLTW Outstanding Teachers:

  • Joseline Nacua, Jefferson Elementary School in California, PLTW Launch
  • Maribeth Brown, Kennedy-Powell Elementary School in Texas, PLTW Launch
  • Kim Heilenbach, Sunset Ridge School in Illinois, PLTW Gateway
  • Rob King, Central Middle School in Maryland, PLTW Gateway
  • Devin McKinnon, New Berlin Eisenhower Middle/High School in Wisconsin, PLTW Gateway
  • Pamela Rissmann, Dartmouth Middle School in California, PLTW Gateway
  • Kristie Steinlicht, Anacapa Middle School in California, PLTW Gateway
  • Bill Van Loo, Ann Arbor STEAM at Northside in Michigan, PLTW Gateway
  • Stacey Wisniewski, Olmsted Falls Middle School-Polaris Satellite Program in Ohio, PLTW Gateway
  • Scott Bawden, Wedgefield K-8 School in Florida, PLTW Gateway
  • Susan Jones, Midway High School in Texas, PLTW Computer Science
  • Jeanine Branham Hall, Hendrick Hudson High School in New York, PLTW Biomedical Science
  • Ashley Cosme, Crown Point High School in Indiana, PLTW Biomedical Science
  • Jason Gibbs, Wayne County Schools in West Virginia, PLTW Biomedical Science
  • Jeffrey Haney, Holmes High School in Kentucky, PLTW Biomedical Science
  • Stephanie Hara, Meridian Technology Center in Oklahoma, PLTW Biomedical Science
  • Lesley Magee, Vicksburg-Warren Career and Technical Center in Mississippi, PLTW Biomedical Science
  • Kathleen O'Brien, Derby High School in Kansas, PLTW Biomedical Science
  • Brian Bobbitt, Evansville North High School in Indiana, PLTW Engineering
  • Pam Goldman, Folsom High School in California, PLTW Engineering
  • Cliff Greer, Naples High School in Florida, PLTW Engineering
  • Jazz Johnston, Russellville High School in Arkansas, PLTW Engineering
  • Brett Kisker, Liberty North High School in Missouri, PLTW Engineering
  • Mark McAllister, Lafayette High School in Missouri, PLTW Engineering
  • Sarah Oosterhuis, Renaissance High in School in Idaho, PLTW Engineering
  • Roy Rosnik, Application Research Lab in Maryland, PLTW Engineering
  • Michael Stano, Garden City High School in New York, PLTW Engineering
  • Jonathan Sutphin, North Surry High School in North Carolina, PLTW Engineering
  • Anthony Tegtmeyer, Neuqua Valley High School in Illinois, PLTW Engineering
  • Mark Thomas, Meridian Technology Center in Oklahoma, PLTW Engineering
  • Sergio Flores, Young Women's Leadership Academy in Texas, PLTW Engineering
  • Jacque Middleton, Auburn High School in Alabama, PLTW Engineering

In addition to these teachers, PLTW recognized six administrators as PLTW Outstanding Educational Leaders:

  • Steven Cahoon, Severna Park High School in Maryland
  • Eryca Card, Elkhorn Area Middle School in Wisconsin
  • Thomas Pachera, Skyline High School in Michigan
  • Cassandra Porter, John Marshall High School in West Virginia
  • Thomas Seuch, Brien McMahon High School in Connecticut
  • Kelly Madden, Kennedy-Powell Elementary in Texas

“We are grateful to our teachers for their commitment to inspiring and empowering their students with the knowledge and transportable skills needed to thrive in our ever-changing world,” said PLTW Senior Vice President and Chief Programs Officer David Greer. “The PLTW Outstanding Teachers and PLTW Outstanding Educational Leaders are exceptional examples for inspiring the next generation of innovators.”

PLTW Summit, sponsored by Chevron, is the premier gathering for the PLTW network of individuals dedicated to preparing students with the in-demand knowledge and transportable skills they need to succeed in college and careers. PLTW will recognize the PLTW Outstanding Teachers and PLTW Outstanding Educational Leaders at each of the remaining PLTW Summit experiences across the country.

  • PLTW Summit Kansas City, Nov. 14-16, 2018
  • PLTW Summit Anaheim, Feb. 1-3, 2019
  • PLTW Summit Indianapolis, Feb. 17-19, 2019

About PLTW

Project Lead The Way (PLTW) is a nonprofit organization that provides a transformative learning experience for PreK-12 students and teachers across the U.S. PLTW empowers students to develop in-demand, transportable knowledge and skills through pathways in computer science, engineering, and biomedical science. PLTW’s teacher training and resources support teachers as they engage their students in real-world learning. Approximately 11,500 elementary, middle, and high schools in all 50 states and the District of Columbia offer PLTW programs. For more information on Project Lead The Way, visit



Media Contact:
Jennifer Erbacher
Project Lead The Way
(317) 669-0871