Skip to main content
2 min read

PLTW Names Educational Leader and Teacher of the Year

INDIANAPOLIS – Six exemplary teachers and one educational leader from across the United States received top honors this week during Project Lead The Way’s national conference – PLTW Summit– including one award from Project Lead The Way (PLTW) and the Kern Family Foundation for the Robert and Patricia Kern PLTW National Teacher of the Year.

National Teacher of the Year and Educational Leader of the Year honors individuals who demonstrate strong alignment to PLTW’s mission; exceptional commitment to students; school leadership; and evidence of meaningful involvement in PLTW curriculum, assessment, and professional development.

“Teachers and educational leaders perform one of the most important functions in our society, and we are proud to work with these outstanding educators who are leaders in their classrooms and across the PLTW network,” said Bertram. “Congratulations to PLTW Teachers of the Year, PLTW Educational Leader of the Year, and the Robert and Patricia Kern PLTW National Teacher of the Year and thank you for your commitment to students.”

Devin McKinnon, PLTW teacher at New Berlin Eisenhower Middle/High School in New Berlin School District in New Berlin, Wisconsin, received the Robert and Patricia Kern PLTW National Teacher of the Year award in front of more than 1,000 attendees, including teachers from across the United States. PLTW President and Chief Executive Officer Dr. Vince Bertram presented the award.

PLTW also recognized five other instructors as PLTW program teachers of the year for their outstanding commitment to empowering students to thrive in our evolving world.


  • PLTW Launch Teacher of the Year – Joseline Nacua, Jefferson Elementary School, Compton Unified School District, Compton, California
  • PLTW Gateway Teacher of the Year– Kristie Steinlicht, Anacapa Middle School, Ventura Unified School District, Ventura, California
  • PLTW Engineering Teacher of the Year – Brett Kisker, Liberty North High School, Liberty Public Schools, Liberty, Missouri
  • PLTW Biomedical Science Teacher of the Year– Jeanine Hall, Hendrick Hudson High School, Hendrick Hudson School District, Montrose, New York
  • PLTW Computer Science Teacher of the Year – Susan Jones, Midway High School, Midway Independent School District, Woodway, Texas

In addition to PLTW Teachers of the Year, PLTW recognized Eryca Card, PLTW 4K-8 Coordinator in the Elkhorn Area School District in Elkhorn, Wisconsin, as PLTW Educational Leader of the Year. She is also a Board Member for the Wisconsin Association of School Boards.

PLTW Summit, sponsored by Chevron, is the premier gathering for individuals dedicated to preparing students with the in-demand and transportable skills they need to succeed in college and careers. Guests will include PreK-12 educators, students, university leaders, and business and industry leaders.

Project Lead The Way (PLTW) is a nonprofit organization that provides a transformative learning experience for PreK-12 students and teachers across the U.S. PLTW empowers students to develop in-demand, transportable knowledge and skills through pathways in computer science, engineering, and biomedical science. PLTW’s teacher training and resources support teachers as they engage their students in real-world learning. Approximately 11,500 elementary, middle, and high schools in all 50 states and the District of Columbia offer PLTW programs. For more information on Project Lead The Way, visit


Media Contact:

Jennifer Erbacher
Senior Director of Communications